I am once again finding what a true blessing I have in this program. What a gift I have been given. I am, through sponsorship, beginning to reap the benefits of giving away what has so freely been given to me. To see the hope light up someones face when you tell them there is a way out, that there is a solution. That no longer is it necessary to carry on living in torment, shame and denial. To see another human being rise up from the very pit of despair into hope is changing who I am in recovery today. It is once again proving that this program is a miracle beyond all miracles and that I am a part of it’s vast circle. By simply showing someone as hopeless as I once was the simple words in a simple book, my recovery has transformed. I have evolved. I now know what the other side of this path looks like and the importance of my role in another human beings life. Not the importance of egoism, but the vital role I have the opportunity to play in saving the life of another drunk. I am God’s tool and he is using me to save another. I am not saying I have saved a life, or that they are even going to make it. But I know now how important sponsorship and helping others can be. My eyes are wide open and I am elated to be in this thing. To have recovered. To light the way for another to recover as well. I am overjoyed and humbled by this experience and hope it only gets better.

About theredsoxsavedmylife

Just another drunk. Not drinkin'. Thanks to 12 simple steps and The Red Sox.

Leave a Reply

