I recently had a change in thinking regarding how other people get sober through this program.
I am a believer in hardcore A.A., Big Book Thumping and the “right” way to do this thing. Keeping opinions out and the Steps and Traditions in. But today I realized that Joe or Dan or Betty, who got sober with the basics of the program and a fairly good sponsor who sorta knew the Big Book, are all still sober and have a great life. They don’t fret about whether or not to read the 9th Step Promises, or whether we are recovered or recovering… they needed a place to go to get some help. They found A.A., they kept coming back, they worked the steps to best of their ability, got a God and life got better.
Sometimes my message is not the one that is going to help Sue or Nancy, but this other person with a similar “story” can help lead them in the right direction and help them the best way they know how. So who am I to judge? Who am I to say this is right or wrong or you didn’t pronounce that right, or you got the year wrong or whatever. I didn’t drink today. I have a good life today. And so do millions of other AA’s who didn’t do this thing the way I laid it out for them. So it’s none of my business how you get this thing… as long as your are there when no one else is and I need a fellow member to guide me in the right direction based on your experiences in this life sober… I’m not too picky about AA manners of the person whose hand is the only thing gunna keep me from falling to my death, or rather, years and years of agonizing paralyzation.

I have no right to keep the message from anyone who can use it. And I have no right to judge another for doing the same. No matter how they word it.

About theredsoxsavedmylife

Just another drunk. Not drinkin'. Thanks to 12 simple steps and The Red Sox.

Leave a Reply

